Diogo Moreira is the fastest in FP1 while Izan Guevara crashes



It was a challenging first practice for the Moto3 field on Friday morning at the Animoca Brands Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix, but MSI’s Diogo Moreira came out on top with the fastest lap of the session, as recorded by MT Helmets. Thursday’s rain had cleared up by the time the lightweight class took to the track, but there were still some soggy spots on the Phillip Island track, so the majority of the drivers began the practice in wets. After starting in the 1:48s, the fastest lap speeds improved as riders were allowed to swap to slicks, with Moreira eventually setting the standard at 1:39.773 seconds with the checkered flag out.

Diogo Moreira

This weekend marks the first World Championship encounter for the Gaviota GASGAS Aspar Team’s Izan Guevara, although the Spaniard’s FP1 was everything from easy. It was the last five minutes of the session when he lost control and crashed into the gravel at Lukey Heights (Turn 9), but he was able to walk away unscathed and finish the session in seventh place. Tatsuki Suzuki (Leopard Racing) went down at Siberia (Turn 6), Albert Surra (Rivacold Snipers Team) and John McPhee (Sterilgarda Husqvarna Max) went down at Turn 11, and so on.

Turning back to the chronometer, it seemed like Joel Kelso (CIP Green Power) may set a new track record for the quickest lap in a Moto3 session on home territory when the checkered flag waved. First, he was beaten by Dennis Foggia (Leopard Racing) with a time of 1:39.830, then by Sergio Garcia (Gaviota GASGAS Aspar Team) with a time of 1:39.876, and finally by Moreira. Overall, those four drivers were the best, with Suzuki finishing fifth with a time of 1:40.250 seconds just before he crashed.

FP2 for Moto3 will begin at 13:15 (GMT +11), so stick around for more The Island action!

FP1 Top 10 for Moto3

1. Diogo Moreira (MT Helmets – MSI) – 1:39.773
2. Dennis Foggia (Leopard Racing) + 0.057
3. Sergio Garcia (Gaviota GASGAS Aspar Team) + 0.103
4. Joel Kelso (CIP Green Power) + 0.144
5. Tatsuki Suzuki (Leopard Racing) + 0.477
6. Daniel Holgado (Red Bull KTM Ajo) + 0.534
7. Stefano Nepa (Angeluss MTA Team) + 0.632
8. Izan Guevara (Gaviota GASGAS Aspar Team) + 0.881
9. Ayumu Sasaki (Sterilgarda Husqvarna Max) + 0.884
10. Deniz Öncü (Red Bull KTM Tech3) + 1.070




Numerous bonuses and unique offers at OKBET make gaming more enjoyable. This OKBET offer is only accessible to players who make their first deposit. When registering, every new player must put down a Php 1,000 security deposit. After making your first deposit, bonuses and free bets may be used to enhance your sports betting. The Cashback bonus on deposits provides a 2% refund on OKBET platform deposits. Before you may cash out, you must place a single wager equal to or more than the deposit bonus. The OKBET Second Deposit 68 percent bonus (up to Php 3,000) is exclusive to OKBet users who make a second deposit.

The most recent incentive is the Refer-A-Friend Bonus (up to 15%). If you refer up to four friends, you may earn up to 10% of their first deposit incentive. Conversely, if you bring five or more friends to join, you may get a 15% bonus on their first deposit. The last bonus is the birthday bonus. To play, a player must be an active member. In order to qualify for the birthday bonus, you must have made at least three (3) deposits during the preceding thirty days.

Next Post

OKBET MOTOR RACING | Horner elaborates on the reasons why Red Bull should construct their own power unit at this juncture

Red Bull Powertrains (RBPT) was established last year, and it has since taken over the management of Honda’s power units as the Milton Keynes company moves closer to becoming an […]